Lok Sabha Election Dates

Lok Sabha Election Dates in India
Lok Sabha Election Schedule
Lok Sabha Elections, the much awaited election schedule and dates were announced yesterday afternoon. The Lok Sabha election dates were announced by the Chief Election Commissioner N.Gopalaswami.Lok Sabha Polls will be conducted from April 16 to May 13. And the Counting of votes willbe on May 16. Hence thereafter the results, fifteenth Lok Sabha will be constituted by June 2.

Five Phased Polling
Polls are scheduled to be conducted in five phases.
First phase of Polls will be conducted in 124 constituencies on April 16
Second phase of Polls will be conducted in 141 constituencies on April 23
Third phase of Polls will be conducted in 107 constituencies on April 30
Fourth phase of Polls will be conducted in 85 constituencies on May 7
Fifth phase of Polls will be conducted in 86 constituencies on May 13

Five-phased polls will be held in Jammu and Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh
Four-phased polls will be held in Bihar
Three-phased polls will be held in Maharashtra and West Bengal.
Two-phased polls will be held in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa and Punjab.
Single-phased polling will be in remaining 15 states and seven union territories.
For example Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry will have a single phased Polls. In Manipur, polls will be conducted on April 22 due to the local holiday on April 23.Interestingly there will be simultaneous assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Orissa.

Voters List
The total number of eligible voters is estimated to 71 crore and 40 lakhs, for this year's Lok Sabha election. Also in 2004 this estimate was 67 crore and 10 lakhs in the voters list. hence there is an increase in 4 crore and 30 lakhs voters for this year with voter ID.

Post a Comment